EurekaFest 2021

-
Online Event

Join us for the 15th annual EurekaFest celebration to honor young inventors! This year's event will be held online over a three-day period from June 15 to June 17, 2021.

EurekaFest is an event that empowers student inventors, honors role models, and encourages creativity and problem solving. Programming includes an introduction to the 2021 Lemelson-MIT InvenTeams — teams of high school students from across the country who received an InvenTeam grant to build a working prototype to solve a real-world problem in their community or beyond. The top, U.S. collegiate inventors who won the coveted 2021 Lemelson-MIT Student Prize will also give brief presentations of their inventions that are changing the fields of agriculture, healthcare, water supply and PET plastic recycling.

See more programming details below and buttons to Zoom registration sites.

Thank you to our sponsors: The Lemelson Foundation and Prasad Kothari

EurekaFest 2021, collage of InvenTeams and Student Prize winners

We invite public participation during the following EurekaFest programs:

Day 1, Tue, June 15, 2021

?12:00 p.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. PT: Welcome and Opening Remarks, Michael J. Cima, faculty director, Lemelson-MIT Program

?12:10 p.m. ET / 9:10 a.m. PT: Keynote Guest Speaker, Asegun Henry, associate professor, MIT Department of Mechanical Engineering

?12:50 p.m. ET / 9:50 a.m. PT: Invention Presentations and Showcases, 2021 InvenTeams and 2021 Student Prize winners. The presentations will be split up into different, concurrent Zoom sessions. Register for one, or register for all and jump from session to session! See below for specific groups and registrations. The groups will present in the order noted, and the inventors will present for approximately 15 minutes each.

Register below for Day 1 events!

Day 2, Wed, June 16, 2021

?2:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. PT: Welcome and Introduction, Michael J. Cima, faculty director, Lemelson-MIT Program

?2:05 p.m. ET / 11:05 a.m. PT: Carol Dahl, executive director, The Lemelson Foundation

?2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT: Lemelson-MIT Program 25th Anniversary Retrospective

?2:45 p.m. ET / 11:45 a.m. PT: InvenTeam Celebration, Tony Perry, invention education coordinator, Lemelson-MIT Program

?2:55 p.m. ET / 11:55 a.m. PT: Student Prize Celebration, Janell Ciemiecki, awards program administrator, Lemelson-MIT Program

?3:10 p.m. ET / 12:10 p.m. PT: Conclusion 

Register below for Day 2 events!

Register Here for all EurekaFest 2021 Virtual Events!

Michael J. Cima, faculty director, Lemelson-MIT Program and Asegun Henry, Associate Professor,  Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Register for Day 1 opening remarks by Lemelson-MIT faculty director, Michael Cima, and the keynote address from guest speaker, Asegun Henry, MIT associate professor, mechanical engineering.
Charles R. Drew Charter Senior Academy InvenTeam, Energy Institute High School InvenTeam, Nicole Black, Student Prize Winner, Paige Balcom, Student Prize Winner, and Quarry Lane School InvenTeam
Register for the Group 1 session featuring presentations and showcases from the following InvenTeams and Student Prize Winners: Energy Institute High School, Paige Balcom, Quarry Lane School, Nicole Black, and Charles R. Drew Charter Senior Academy.
The Archer School for Girls InvenTeam, Benilde-St. Margaret’s InvenTeam, Braham High School InvenTeam, Landmark School InvenTeam, Maya Burhanpurkar & Sonny An, Student Prize Winners  
Register for the Group 2 session featuring presentations and showcases from the following InvenTeams and Student Prize Winners: Benilde-St. Margaret’s, Sonny An & Maya Burhanpurkar, The Archer School for Girls, Braham High School, and Landmark School.
Bruce Enzmann, Michael Lan, and Anson Zhou, Student Prize Winners, H.H. Dow High School InvenTeam, Middleton High School InvenTeam, Mira Moufarrej, Student Prize Winner, Ridgewood High School InvenTeam
Register for the Group 3 session featuring presentations and showcases from the following InvenTeams and Student Prize Winners: Middleton High School, Bruce Enzmann, Michael Lan, and Anson Zhou, H.H. Dow High School, Mira Moufarrej, and Ridgewood High School.
Benjamin Johnson & Zane Zents, Student Prize Winners, Gilbreath-Reed Career and Technical Center InvenTeam, Hilary Johnson, Student Prize Winner, Omro High School, InvenTeam, Smithtown High School West InvenTeam
Register for the Group 4 session featuring presentations and showcases from the following InvenTeams and Student Prize Winners: Omro High School, Benjamin Johnson & Zane Zents, Smithtown High School West, Hilary Johnson, and Gilbreath-Reed Career and Technical Center.
Lemelson-MIT faculty director, Michael Cima and The Lemelson Foundation Executive director, Carol Dahl
Register for all Day 2 events: Opening remarks by Lemelson-MIT faculty director, Michael J. Cima and an address from Carol Dahl, executive director, The Lemelson Foundation, and the InvenTeams and Student Prize celebrations.